Types of Users, Items, and Loan Periods
|Library User||Material Type||Loan Period||Overdue Fines||Max Items||Renewable|
|Books, South Carolina Room Books, and Government Documents||21 days||$0.10 per day||10||once|
|Leisure Reading Books||21 days||$0.10 per day||2||no|
|Juvenile Books and Curriculum Books||7 days||$0.10 per day||10||once|
|Headphones||2 hours ; must be used in the library||$1.00 per hour||1||once|
|White Boards||2 hours ; must be used in the library||$1.00 per hour||1||once|
|Floppy Disks & CD Drives||2 hours ; must be used in the library||$1.00 per hour||1||once|
|Calculators||1 day; due back next day by close of business (S-Th, midnight; F & Sa, 5 pm)||$1.00 per hour||1||once|
|Videotapes and DVDs||2 hours ; must be used in the library||none||1||once|
|Audiotapes and CDs||7 days||$0.25 per day||3||no|
|Reserve Items||most 2 hrs; some 3 or 7 days||$1.00 per day||4||no|
CSU Students Only
|Laptops||2 hours; must be used in the library||$1.00/hour; full replacement cost after 48 hours||1||once|
|Leisure Collection DVDs||3 days||$1.00 per day||1||once|
CSU Emeritus Faculty
|Books, South Carolina Room Books, and Government Documents||120 days||none||25||once|
|Leisure Reading||21 days||none||2||no|
|Juvenile Books and Curriculum Books||7 days||none||10||once|
|Audiotapes, and CDs||7 days||none||5||once|
|Videotapes and DVD's||7 days||none||5||once|
PASCAL Visiting Patrons
Charleston School of Law students
|Books and Government Documents||21 days||depends on policy at patron's library||3||once|
CSU Board of Trustees
Area Baptist ministers
CSU Board of Visitors
Teacher Cadets (high school students enrolled in one CSU education course)
Students in Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary Extension Program (attending classes on the CSU campus)
|Books, South Carolina Room Books, and Government Documents||14 days||$0.10 per day||2||once|
Friends of the CSU Library (currently limited to residents of The Elms of Charleston)
|Books, South Carolina Room Books, and Government Documents||21 days||$0.10 per day||2||once|
Fines are imposed to insure that library items are returned promptly and are available for other library users. Fines continue to accrue each day an item is kept overdue, including holidays, so students are encouraged to return or renew library items before holiday periods. As a courtesy, the Library will send overdue notices, but it is the borrower's responsibility to return library items on or before the due date even if a notice is not received. Borrowers who owe fines will not be allowed to check out additional items until all fines are paid.
Renewing Library Items
Some items may be renewed for an additional loan period if the items are not overdue and if they have not been requested by another library user. Items may be renewed in person at the Circulation Desk or by calling (843) 863-7938. Overdue items may be renewed if the fines are paid at the time of the renewal request.
Reserve items are located at the Circulation Desk on the main floor of the Library. The loan periods for reserve items vary from two hours (not to leave the library) to a one week checkout period. The minimum fine for an overdue reserve item is $1.00 per day.
Lost or Damaged Items
When a library item becomes lost or damaged this should be reported promptly at the Circulation Desk so that any overdue fines will not continue to accrue. Students are encouraged to pay for lost or damaged items as soon as possible so replacement copies can be ordered. Payment must be made prior to the end of that semester, or a hold is placed on the student’s University Account.
When a library item has been paid for and then is found and returned within one year of being reported lost, the cost of the item and a portion of the processing fee will be refunded. The item must be returned in good condition. Fines are not refundable.
End of Semester Charges
All library items must be returned before the end of each semester and all replacement costs for lost or damaged items paid. Students will be charged for each library item not returned.
Students who fail to return library items by the end of the semester will have a hold placed on their University Account and will not be allowed to register or attend classes until the items are returned and all fines paid. Graduating students will not receive diplomas or transcripts until their holds are cleared.